Ann – FTP

By | September 6, 2020

ANN

by Holland Taylor

with Jacqueline Jones

directed by Billy Christopher Maupin

Wed Sept 16 – Sun Oct 25, 2020

​​Just in time for what’s probably the most important election of our time, Firehouse Theatre is pleased to announce the Richmond premiere of Holland Taylor’s ANN. The one-woman show features Jacqueline Jones in the role of Ann Richards, who was a revolutionary figure in American politics.

Holland Taylor’s script is an in-depth, humorous, and affectionate portrait of Ann Richards. The play illustrates why Richards was a revolutionary figure in American politics. She was the first female Democratic governor of Texas and was a powerful voice in the pro-choice and women’s rights movements. She came to national attention when she gave the keynote address at the 1988 Democratic Convention. Richards passed away in 2006 and is remembered for her sharp wit and her advocacy for the inclusion of underrepresented populations in governments, One of Richards\’ most passionate beliefs was that democracy depended on everyone voting and actively participating in manifesting the ideals of equality and justice for all.

Firehouse will continue its practice of contactless theatre for the run of ANN that it established during the first production of our 2020-21 season — a solo performance of THE PICTURE OF DORIAN GRAY. Performances of ANN will be limited to 2, 4, or 6 audience members at each show, and select performances will be live-streamed.

ANN
by Holland Taylor

Performers:
Jacqueline Jones – Ann Richards
Erica Hughes – Voice of Nancy Kohler

Patricia Alli – Voice of College President

Production Team:
Director – Billy Christopher Maupin
Costume Designer – Ruth Hedberg
Lighting and Sound Designer – Todd Labelle
Dialect Coach – Erica Hughes
Stage Managers – Morgan Lea Palmer, Grace Brown

Performance Schedule:
Wed, Sept 16 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 2)
Thu, Sept 17 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 4)
Sat, Sept 19 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 4)
Wed, Sept 23 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 4)
Thu, Sept 24 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 4)
Fri, Sept 25 @ 2pm (capacity of 4)
Sat, Sept 26 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 4)
Wed, Sept 30 @ 7:30pm* (capacity of 4)
Thu, Oct 1 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 4)
Fri, Oct 2 @ 2pm (capacity of 6)
Sat, Oct 3 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 4)
Sun, Oct 4 @ 4pm* (capacity of 4)
Wed, Oct 7 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 2)
Thu, Oct 8 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 4)
Fri, Oct 9 @ 2pm (capacity of 6)
Sat, Oct 10 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 6)
Sun, Oct 11 @ 4pm (capacity of 4)

Fri, Oct 16 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 6)

Sat, Oct 17 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 6)

Sun, Oct 18 @ 4pm (capacity of 6)

Fri, Oct 23 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 6)

Sat, Oct 24 @ 7:30pm (capacity of 6)

Sun, Oct 25 @ 4pm (capacity of 6)
*live-streamed performances (capacities are for the performances at Firehouse, not the stream)

Tickets:
$30 suggested donation / pay what you will

​For tickets to live performances at Firehouse

click the LIVE THEATRE ICON

or paste this url in your browser

https://www.signupgenius.com/go/9040c44a5a828a7ff2-ann

To tune in for a live streamed performance

click the LIVE STREAMING ICON

or paste this url in your browser

https://forms.gle/dnmhhqXGcjXvs1BLA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *