Artsies Announced

By | November 3, 2019

Here are the recipients IN BOLD of the 12th Annual Richmond Theatre Critics Circle Award (the nominees are also listed).

Best Musical: Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, TheatreLAB

  • Grey Gardens, Richmond Triangle Players (RTP)
  • Once, Virginia Repertory Theatre (Virginia Rep)
  • Sondheim on Sondheim, RTP
  • The Wiz, Virginia Rep

Best Direction (Musical): Deejay Gray, Sweeney Todd

  • Kikau Alvaro, The Wiz
  • Debra Clinton, Grey Gardens
  • Nathaniel Shaw, Once
  • Tom Width, Bright Star, Swift Creek Mill Theatre

Best Actor (Musical): Alexander Sapp, Sweeney Todd

  • Paul Major, Gutenberg! The Musical!, Quill Theatre
  • Ken Allen Neely, Once
  • Cooper Sved, Girlfriend, RTP
  • Robert Throckmorton, Miss Gulch Returns, RTP

Best Actress (Musical): Susan Sanford, Grey Gardens

  • Bianca Bryan, Sweeney Todd
  • Felicia Curry, Sister Act, Virginia Rep
  • Katherine Fried, Once
  • Desiree Roots, The Wiz

Best Supporting Actor (Musical): Brandon LaReau, The Wiz

  • Trevor Lindley Craft, Once
  • Dylan Jackson, The Wiz
  • Matt Polson, Sweeney Todd
  • Matt Shofner, Sweeney Todd

Best Supporting Actress (Musical): Audra Honaker, Sweeney Todd

  • Kelsey Cordrey, Sister Act
  • Grey Garrett, Grey Gardens
  • Jessi Johnson, The Wiz
  • Gwynne Wood, Sister Act

Best Musical Direction: JS Fauquet, Sweeney Todd

  • Paul Deiss, Bright Star
  • Starlet Knight, Lizzie the Musical, 5th Wall Theatre (5th Wall)
  • Anthony Smith, The Wiz
  • Michael Zygo, Once

Best Choreography: Kikau Alvaro, The Wiz

  • Kikau Alvaro, Atlantis, Virginia Rep
  • Nicole Morris-Anastasi, Dance Nation, TheatreLAB
  • Nathaniel Shaw, Once
  • Megan Tatum, Bright Star

Outstanding Achievement in Costume Design (Musical): Alex Valentin, Lizzie AND Jeanne Nugent, The Wiz

  • Maura Lynch Cravey, Bright Star
  • Ruth Hedberg, Sweeney Todd
  • Ruth Hedberg, Grey Gardens

Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Design (Musical): Michael Jarett, Sweeney Todd

  • Paul Black, The Wiz
  • Erin Barclay, Lizzie
  • Joe Doran, Once
  • BJ Wilkinson, Atlantis

Outstanding Achievement in Set Design (Musical): Jason Sherwood, Atlantis

  • William James Mahoney, Once
  • Kimberly V. Powers, The Wiz
  • Chris Raintree, Mr. Popper’s Penguins
  • Tom Width, 1940s Radio Christmas Carol

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design (Musical): Joey Luck, Sweeney Todd

  • Derek Dumais, Once
  • Derek Dumais, Forever Plaid, Virginia Rep
  • Joey Luck, Sondheim on Sondheim
  • Joey Luck, Lizzie

Best Play: The Laramie Project, RTP AND Gloria, Cadence Theatre in partnership with Virginia Rep

  • Dance Nation, TheatreLAB
  • An Octoroon, TheatreLAB
  • Seven Homeless Mammoths Wander New England, RTP

Best Direction (Play): Lucian Restivo, The Laramie Project

  • Chelsey Burke, The Taming of the Shrew, Quill
  • Anna Senechal Johnson, Gloria
  • Tawnya Pettiford-Wates, An Octoroon
  • Carol Piersol, Pretty Fire, 5th Wall

Best Actor (Play): Jamar Jones, An Octoroon

  • Jamar Jones, Red Velvet, Quill
  • Michael Manocchio, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Virginia Rep
  • Matt Polson, Gloria
  • David Emerson Toney, Between Riverside and Crazy, Cadence
  • Scott Wichmann, Talk Radio, 5th Wall

Best Actress (Play): Haliya Roberts, Pretty Fire

  • Bianca Bryan, The Taming of the Shrew
  • Kimberly Jones Clark, Who’s Holiday, RTP
  • Eva DeVirgilis, In My Chair, Cadence
  • Katrinah Carol Lewis, A Doll’s House, TheatreLAB

Best Supporting Actor (Play): Jeremy V. Morris, Oedipus: A Gospel Myth (Firehouse)

  • Jeff Clevenger, Broadway Bound, Virginia Rep
  • Cole Metz, An Octoroon
  • Stevie Rice, Red Velvet
  • Adam Turck, The Tempest, Quill

Best Supporting Actress (Play): Amber Marie Martinez, Dance Nation

  • Rachel Dilliplane, Red Velvet
  • Anne Michelle Forbes, Gloria
  • Donna Marie Miller, The Game’s Afoot: Holmes for the Holidays, Virginia Rep
  • Jill Bari Steinberg, Broadway Bound

Outstanding Achievement in Costume Design (Play): Sue Griffin, The Game’s Afoot

  • Nia Safarr Banks, An Octoroon
  • Maura Lynch Cravey, Savannah Sipping Society
  • Cora Delbridge, Red Velvet
  • Ruth Hedberg, A Doll’s House

Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Design (Play): BJ Wilkinson, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

  • Andrew Bonniwell, Songs from Bedlam, Firehouse
  • Joe Doran, Count Dracula, Swift Creek Mill
  • Michael Jarett, The Laramie Project
  • Michael Jarett, Dance Nation

Outstanding Achievement in Set Design (Play): Chris Raintree, Songs from Bedlam

  • Vinnie Gonzalez, Oedipus: A Gospel Myth
  • Rich Mason, Gloria
  • Terrie Powers, Broadway Bound
  • Lucian Resitvo, The Laramie Project
  • TJ Spensieri, Talk Radio

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design (Play): Roger Price, Talk Radio

  • Ryan Dygert, Songs from Bedlam
  • Derek Dumais, The Game’s Afoot
  • Robbie Kinter, In My Chair
  • Joey Luck, Dance Nation

Ernie McClintock Best Ensemble Acting: The Laramie Project, RTP

  • Dance Nation, TheatreLAB
  • Gloria, Cadence
  • Forever Plaid, Virginia Rep
  • Once, Virginia Rep

Promising Newcomer: Joel Ashur, Gloria

  • Lucy Caudle, Atlantis
  • Annella Kaine, The Laramie Project
  • Trinitee Pearson, An Octoroon and Dance Nation
  • Gwynne Wood, Sister Act

Best Original Work: In My Chair by Eva DeVirgilis (Cadence in partnership with Virginia Rep)

  • Animal Control by Chandler Hubbard, Firehouse
  • Wrong Chopped by Dixon Cashwell and Levi Meerovich, Firehouse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *