LOMBARDI – FTP

By | September 15, 2019

LOMBARDI
RVA premiere of a play by Eric Simonson

Based on the book When Pride Still Mattered — A Life of Vince Lombardi, written by David Maraniss

Directed by Scott Wichmann
Performances Thu, Nov 7 thru Sat, Nov 23

$35 general admission/$25 military & rvata/$15 student
​​
LOMBARDI is a play about obsession, perfection, and winning — which were the defining characteristics of famed Green Bay Packers coach Vince Lombardi.

Considered by many to be the greatest coach in the history of the game, Lombardi’s impact on football and our culture is memorialized in many ways. The Super Bowl Trophy itself was named in his honor. His love of the game and single-minded pursuit of excellence generated loyalty and fear among those in his orbit including his players, his wife and family, and his psyche — in that order.

​This compelling play reveals the inner-workings of Lombardi, told in a highly theatrical and engaging way. Share Lombardi’s thrill of victory and agony of defeat, and examine the costs of living your life around the belief that “winning isn’t everything, it’s the only thing.”

Performers:
CJ Bergin
Linda S. Beringer
Axle J. Burtness
Arik Cullen
Raymond Goode
Ken Moretti

Production Team:
Director – Scott Wichmann
Assistant Director – Todd LaBelle
Set Design – Frank Foster
Costume Design – Sheila Russ
Lighting Design – Todd Labelle
Stage Manager – Lauren Langston

Performance Schedule:
Thu, Nov 7 @ 7:30pm
Fri, Nov 8 @ 7:30pm
Sat, Nov 9 @ 7:30pm (media opening)
Sun, Nov 10 @ 4pm
Thu, Nov 14 @ 7:30pm
Fri, Nov 15 @ 7:30pm
Sat, Nov 16 @ 7:30pm
Sun, Nov 17 @ 4pm
Thu, Nov 21 @ 7:30pm
Fri, Nov 22 @ 7:30pm
Sat, Nov 23 @ 7:30pm

​The original Broadway production of LOMBARDI was produced by Fran Kirmser and Tony Ponturo in association with The National Football League.

For more information and to purchase tickets, please visit https://www.firehousetheatre.org/lombardi-1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *